Small Business Recycling / Trash Programs

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

News

No results found.

Arlington's Commercial Orange Bag Program 

  • This pay-as-you-throw, trash metering program allows participating businesses to pay for only the trash they create
  • The cost is $2.30 per 32 gallon bag, and sold in rolls of 10 bags for $23.00
  • All trash must be inside the orange bags at the curb
  • Orange bags can be put out at the curb between 6-7 AM on the day of your collection
  • Recycling collection is included with this program
  • Register with Department of Public Works (51 Grove Street) to become a part of the program
  • Not all businesses will qualify
  • Once registered, businesses may purchase commercial orange bags at Wanamaker True Value Hardware, Shattuck Ace Hardware, and at the Arlington DPW office.
  • Refer to Massachusetts Waste Disposal Ban laws for prohibited trash items

Printable information for Commercial Orange Bag Program here

Why Should My Business Recycle?

Many customers in Arlington value environmentally friendly businesses, who practice recycling or composting. Becoming a businesses that recycles could generate loyalty and boost your sales. Also, it's easy, good for our planet, and could save you money in trash fees. 

Keeping recyclable materials out of the trash is required of all residents and businesses, per state and local laws. Therefore, at this time there is no charge for recycling when it is placed, correctly, with commercial orange bags. Use a blue reusable container to hold your recycling, and help prevent litter in our community by using a larger enough container to hold your recycling on windy days.

Printable Business Recycling Guide

Business district illustration McCormack
Illustration by Gail McCormick

Federal and State Holidays

Trash and recycling will be delayed by one day on the following holidays: New Year's Day, Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday Observance, President's Day, Patriot's Day, Memorial Day, Independent's Day, Labor Day, Veterans Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas.

Resources

Rules & Regulations

Massachusetts Waste Disposal Ban
The following items are prohibited from disposal and/or transfer for disposal in Massachusetts:

  • Asphalt pavement, brick, and concrete
  • Cathode ray tubes
  • Clean gypsum wallboard
  • Ferrous and non-ferrous metals
  • Glass and metal containers 
  • Lead acid batteries
  • Recyclable paper, cardboard and paperboard 
  • Single resin narrow-necked plastics
  • Treated and untreated wood and wood waste
  • White goods (large appliances)
  • Whole tires (some)

310 CMR 19.017: Waste Disposal Ban Regulation
MassDEP Waste and Recycling Laws & Rules:

Includes brochures, guides, a matrix of all laws and regulations in tabular form
Regulations for solid and toxic waste, water disposal bans, Federal & State laws

More about Economic Development in Arlington